Introduction

The need to understand the Syrian conflict is even more imperative since it has extended to Europe and affected us profoundly. The shock of the attacks in Paris on November 13, 2015, terrorist actions elsewhere and the growing flow of refugees towards Europe, bring us dramatically closer to this distant tragedy.

“Take a moment to learn” is what we propose here. We try to offer some answers, as simplified as possible, without being simplistic, by reviewing the different phases of this conflict which has continuously expanded and intensified over the past five years and by discussing those questions frequently asked (FAQ) on the causes, the nature, the actors, the stakes and the possible outcomes.

“Recall, explain, and decipher” the facts, the dimensions and the stakes involved in the events which have occurred over the past five years in and around Syria is the object of our initiative. To do so we have referred to dates, figures and information which have been verified and compared with many of the most reliable sources. We have grouped the questions by themes in order to facilitate the account of the events and their clarification.

Who are we? Syrian, French and Franco-Syrian journalists and university scholars who have closely followed the events in Syria and the region for many years. Without pretending to be neutral, we privilege an objective approach to the realities of the situation and we assume with lucidity our support of democracy for all Syrians.

Download this chapter in PDF

Introduction

Le besoin de comprendre le conflit en Syrie s’impose davantage depuis que ses débordements nous touchent de plein fouet. Le choc des attentats du 13 novembre 2015 à Paris, les autres actions terroristes ailleurs, mais aussi l’afflux de réfugiés vers l’Europe nous rapprochent dramatiquement de cette tragédie lointaine.

Un moment pour apprendre est l’option que nous vous proposons ici. En revenant sur les étapes d’un conflit qui ne cesse de s’étendre et de s’aggraver depuis près de cinq ans, en reprenant les questions qui sont fréquemment posées (FAQ) sur les causes, la nature, les acteurs, les enjeux et les issues possibles, nous tentons d’apporter des réponses, aussi simples que possible, sans être simplistes.

Rappeler, expliquer et décrypter les événements, les faits, les dimensions et les enjeux de ce qui se déroule depuis cinq ans sur et autour du territoire syrien est le sens de notre démarche. Cela en nous appuyant sur des dates, des chiffres et des informations vérifiées et recoupées auprès des sources les plus crédibles. Nous avons regroupé ces questions par thème pour faciliter le récit des événements et les éclairer.

Qui sommes-nous ? Des journalistes et des universitaires Syriens, Français ou franco-syriens qui suivent au quotidien les événements en Syrie et dans la région. Sans prétendre à la neutralité, mais tout en privilégiant une approche objective des réalités, nous assumons avec lucidité notre soutien à la démocratie pour les Syriens.

Téléchargez ce chapitre en PDF