The Syrian conflict
for dummies

The Syrian conflict affects us profoundly: the images of destruction, the arrival of refugees, and, more recently, terrorist attacks which are the result of the deterioration of a situation which has been going on for over five years now.

We therefore are in need of understanding.

Journalists and university scholars, connaisseurs of the country, we wish to explore further than media accounts which are sometimes misleading.
We propose here to decipher the conflict, its causes, its phases and its protagonists. In short, to give some clear responses to legitimate questioning.

Introduction

The need to understand the Syrian conflict is even more imperative since it has extended to Europe and affected us profoundly. The shock of the attacks in Paris on November 13, 2015, terrorist actions elsewhere and the growing flow of refugees towards Europe, bring us dramatically closer to this distant tragedy.

“Take a moment to learn” is what we propose here. We try to offer some answers, as simplified as possible, without being simplistic, by reviewing the different phases of this conflict which has continuously expanded and intensified over the past five years and by discussing those questions frequently asked (FAQ) on the causes, the nature, the actors, the stakes and the possible outcomes.

“Recall, explain, and decipher” the facts, the dimensions and the stakes involved in the events which have occurred over the past five years in and around Syria is the object of our initiative. To do so we have referred to dates, figures and information which have been verified and compared with many of the most reliable sources. We have grouped the questions by themes in order to facilitate the account of the events and their clarification.

Who are we? Syrian, French and Franco-Syrian journalists and university scholars who have closely followed the events in Syria and the region for many years. Without pretending to be neutral, we privilege an objective approach to the realities of the situation and we assume with lucidity our support of democracy for all Syrians.

I. From revolution to civil war

We speak today of a civil war. But the Syrian crisis began by a peaceful revolution, that of a people resisting authoritarianism. To understand it, one must be able to imagine what it was like to live in Syria under the regime of Bachar Al-Assad. How did the first demonstrations begin, and how did the situation evolve?

Read this chapter

II. From civil war to regional confrontation

In addition to the Initial and legitimate demands of the Syrian people, the conflict has taken on a regional dimension and is dragging on in time. Neighboring countries, more and more implicated in the conflict, each seek to benefit from its outcome. Syria is progressively being torn apart by foreign rivalries being disputed by proxy on its territory.

Read this chapter

III. From regional confrontation to international conflict

Superimposed on these regional power relations are the agendas of the different world powers which amplify the complexity of the crisis. The United States and Russia each seem to support certain parties, but with unequal determination. Europe, more directly implicated in the crisis, seems absent. How can one negotiate under these circumstances?

Read this chapter

IV. What has become of Syria and the Syrian people?

In March 2015, Ban Ki-Moon declared with regard to the Syrian situation: “It is the worst humanitarian crisis of our time. […] The country has lost nearly four decades of human development.” How do the Syrians manage to survive and what has become of their country?

Read this chapter

V. The Future

Today, many commentators and politiciens consider the fight against terrorism, by which France has been hard hit, to be the priority. Combatting terrorism is of course essential, but it cannot be effective without seeking at the same time a solution to the profound causes of the Syrian crisis.

Read this chapter

VI. Conclusion

The conflict has been going on for five years now. A just solution with a diplomatic scenario stipulating the end of combat and a political solution to the conflict seems increasingly remote.

The negotiations engaged in Geneva by UN mediator Steffan de Mistura have not permitted any advancements. The last round in April 2016 was cut short as the opposition, represented by the High Negotiation Committee, found it impossible to remain at the table while the regime of Al-Assad continued to bomb civilians when a cessation of hostilities had been decided in order to give a chance to the negotiation process. Both Moscow and Washington had seemed favorable to such a process in response to the growing force of Daech, but nothing came of this.

One thing became increasingly evident: no actor was in a position to win on a military level which imposed the necessity to carry on a dialogue with all the actors – international et regional – present on the territory : Russia, the United States, Iran, Turkey and Saudi Arabia.

Read this chapter

Le Conflit Syrien
Pour Les Nuls

Le conflit syrien nous concerne : les images de destructions, l’arrivée de réfugiés, ou plus récemment les actes terroristes liés à la dégradation d’une situation qui dure depuis plus de cinq ans.

Aussi avons-nous besoin de le comprendre.

Journalistes et universitaires, connaisseurs du pays, nous souhaitons dépasser un récit médiatique parfois trompeur.
Nous vous proposons ici de décrypter le conflit, ses causes, ses étapes et ses protagonistes. Bref, d’apporter des réponses claires à des interrogations légitimes.

  Introduction

Le besoin de comprendre le conflit en Syrie s’impose davantage depuis que ses débordements nous touchent de plein fouet. Le choc des attentats du 13 novembre 2015 à Paris, les autres actions terroristes ailleurs, mais aussi l’afflux de réfugiés vers l’Europe nous rapprochent dramatiquement de cette tragédie lointaine.

Un moment pour apprendre est l’option que nous vous proposons ici. En revenant sur les étapes d’un conflit qui ne cesse de s’étendre et de s’aggraver depuis près de cinq ans, en reprenant les questions qui sont fréquemment posées (FAQ) sur les causes, la nature, les acteurs, les enjeux et les issues possibles, nous tentons d’apporter des réponses, aussi simples que possible, sans être simplistes.

Rappeler, expliquer et décrypter les événements, les faits, les dimensions et les enjeux de ce qui se déroule depuis cinq ans sur et autour du territoire syrien est le sens de notre démarche. Cela en nous appuyant sur des dates, des chiffres et des informations vérifiées et recoupées auprès des sources les plus crédibles. Nous avons regroupé ces questions par thème pour faciliter le récit des événements et les éclairer.

Qui sommes-nous ? Des journalistes et des universitaires Syriens, Français ou franco-syriens qui suivent au quotidien les événements en Syrie et dans la région. Sans prétendre à la neutralité, mais tout en privilégiant une approche objective des réalités, nous assumons avec lucidité notre soutien à la démocratie pour les Syriens.

I. De la révolution à la guerre civile

On parle aujourd’hui de guerre civile. Mais la crise syrienne a commencé par une révolution pacifique, celle d’un peuple contre l’autoritarisme. Pour le comprendre, il faut d’abord imaginer la vie des Syriens sous le régime des Assad. Comment ont commencé les premières manifestations, et comment la situation a-t-elle évolué ?

Lire ce chapitre

II. De la guerre civile à la confrontation régionale

Aux revendications initiales et légitimes des Syriens, s’est ajoutée la dimension régionale d’un conflit qui dure. Les pays voisins de la Syrie, par une implication croissante, ont cherché à influencer l’issue de la crise en leur faveur. La Syrie est progressivement devenue le terrain de rivalités qui la dépassent.

Lire ce chapitre

III. De la confrontation régionale au conflit international…

En surimpression de ces rapports de force régionaux, se greffent enfin les agendas des puissances internationales, ajoutant encore à la complexité du conflit. Les États-Unis et la Russie semblent chacun soutenir un camp, avec une détermination toutefois très inégale. Face à eux, l’Europe, pourtant directement touchée par le conflit syrien, paraît absente. Comment négocier dans ces conditions ?

Lire ce chapitre

IV. Que reste-t-il de la Syrie et des Syriens ?

En mars 2015, Ban Ki-Moon déclarait au sujet de la Syrie : « Il s’agit de la crise humanitaire la plus grave de notre temps. […] Le pays a perdu près de quatre décennies de développement humain ». Comment survivent les Syriens et que reste-t-il de leur pays ?

Lire ce chapitre

V. L’avenir

De nombreux commentateurs et hommes politiques semblent aujourd’hui considérer que la lutte contre le terrorisme, qui a touché notre pays, est prioritaire. Celle-ci est naturellement primordiale, mais elle ne peut être efficace sans la recherche d’une solution aux causes profondes de la crise en Syrie.

Lire ce chapitre

VI. Conclusion : une solution vertueuse

Il est difficile, compte tenu de tout ce que nous avons décrit, d’imaginer une issue prochaine. Pourtant des propositions existent, et dépendent du courage et de la volonté des acteurs pour les faire adopter. Un résumé des dernières initiatives diplomatiques montre les progrès accomplis mais aussi le chemin à parcourir.

Lire ce chapitre